Here Comes Everybody

Here Comes Everybody

The Story of the Pogues

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
The Pogues injected the fury of punk into Irish folk music and gave the world the troubled, iconic, darkly romantic songwriter Shane MacGowan. Here Comes Everybody is a memoir written by founding member and accordion player James Fearnley, drawn from his personal experiences and the series of journals and correspondence he kept throughout the band's career. Fearnley describes the coalescence of a disparate collection of vagabonds living in the squats of London's Kings Cross, with, at its center, the charismatic MacGowan and his idea of turning Irish traditional music on its head. With beauty, lyricism, and great candor, Fearnley tells the story of how the band watched helplessly as their singer descended into a dark and isolated world of drugs and alcohol, and sets forth the increasingly desperate measures they were forced to take.

Publisher: Chicago, Illinois :, Chicago Review Press,, 2014.
ISBN: 9781556529504
Branch Call Number: 782.42166 FE
Characteristics: 406 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Alternative Title: Story of the Pogues


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Jun 18, 2014

i expected a little bit more written about shane in this book but he still remains an enigma. its still an interesting read into the lives of the people around shane who've known and dealt with him. i just wish it was written in everyday talk instead of alongside a thesaurus.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at APL

To Top