The Quick

The Quick

A Novel

Downloadable Audiobook - 2014-06-17
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
For fans of The Night Circus, The Historian, and A Discovery of Witches, Lauren Owen's enthralling debut captures the magic and menace of Victorian London, and is a brilliant novel of steadfast love, damning secrets, and dangerous ambition. London, 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be pït newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society, and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Unnerved, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine city that greets her, she uncovers a secret world at the margins populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling "Doctor Knife." But the answer to her brother's disappearance ultimately lies within the...
Publisher: New York :, Books on Tape,, 2014-06-17.
ISBN: 9780804165501
Branch Call Number: eAudiobook Overdrive
Characteristics: polychrome,rdacc,http://rdaregistry.info/termList/RDAColourContent/1003
data file,rdaft,http://rdaregistry.info/termList/fileType/1005

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
c
cosmicboy93
Aug 27, 2018

I liked this book more than I thought I would. I didn't realize it was a "vampire" book when I checked it out, or I probably wouldn't have gotten it. Although I like the original Dracula novel, I can't get into the romantic vampire genre of today. This book was much more than that, however, and had very interesting characters and an exciting story.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top