Another Man's Moccasins

Another Man's Moccasins

Walt Longmire Mystery Series, Book 4

eBook - 2008-05-29
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
A murder victim might connect to Walt's past in this enthralling novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and As the Crow Flies, the fourth in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love the fourth mystery in New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson's award-winning Walt Longmire series , the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series, is not to be missed. It delivers more of the taut prose, engrossing characters, beautiful Wyoming setting, and satisfying depth that reviewers have been hailing since his first book, The Cold Dish. In Another Man's Moccasins, the body of a Vietnamese woman dumped along the Wyoming interstate opens a baffling case for Sheriff Longmire, whose only suspect is a Crow Indian with a troubled past. But things get even stranger when a...
Publisher: New York :, Penguin Group US,, 2008-05-29.
ISBN: 9781440629853
Branch Call Number: eBook Overdrive
Characteristics: polychrome,rdacc,http://rdaregistry.info/termList/RDAColourContent/1003
data file,rdaft,http://rdaregistry.info/termList/fileType/1005

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
tjdickey
May 02, 2019

One of the best in the Longmire series - deep exploration of themes of prejudice, and how our history impacts our present character, while the author stretches out two overlapping murder stories against the backdrop of the Vietnam War (just before Tet), and contemporary backwoods Wyoming (native American and whites).

c
catrina54
Apr 20, 2019

This is the most thought provoking novel of his that I’ve read. It gives a lot of insight into Walt’s character. What a man! Honest, fair, kind and smart. I’m in love 😍

s
sharlkan
Apr 16, 2018

I started this series from book #1. This is #4 and I still enjoy the stories, the main characters, however...with each book the language is getting more and more off-color and I find that so disappointing and totally unnecessary. I'm going to continue for a couple more books and hope it doesn't continue downhill.
If it wasn't for the language this would be one of my favorite series.

jeanner222 Dec 26, 2012

Sheriff Walt Longmire’s past meets his present in this fourth entry in the Longmire series. When a young Vietnamese woman is found dead by the side of the interstate, it is up to Walt to investigate. Initially, the case seems too easy, as a large Crow Indian is found living nearby and in possession of the dead woman’s purse.

But as Walt knows, nothing is that easy. In spite of his tainted record, Virgil White Buffalo is probably not the killer, and Walt knows this. But who would kill this woman? And who is this woman, and what is she doing in Wyoming?

Walt has quite the case on his hands, mostly because the appearance of the Vietnamese woman sends Walt’s mind back in time. Readers will find Walt frequently flashing back to his time in Vietnam. Walt’s greatest challenge lies in keeping a clear head in order to solve the case.

Even though I love Walt and this series, the flashbacks were too plentiful, too long, and too boring. If one is reading this series in order, I would advise skipping this entry.

j
jtcampbel47
Aug 17, 2012

Good writing and a quirky sense of how the author is invested in where he lives

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top