The English Teacher

The English Teacher

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
"For readers of John Le Carre and viewers of Homeland, a slow-burning psychological spy-thriller by a former brigadier general of intelligence in the Israeli army. After attending her father's funeral, former Mossad agent Rachel Goldschmitt empties her bank account and disappears. But when she makes a cryptic phone call to her former handler, Ehud, the Mossad sends him to track her down. Finding no leads, he must retrace her career as a spy to figure out why she abandoned Mossad before she can do any damage to Israel. But he soon discovers that after living under cover for so long, an agent's assumed identity and her real one can blur, catching loyalty, love, and truth between them. In the midst of a high-risk, high-stakes investigation, Ehud begins to question whether he ever knew his agent at all. In The English Teacher, Yiftach R. Atir drew on his own experience in intelligence to weave a psychologically nuanced thriller that explores the pressures of living under an assumed identity for months at a time".--
Publisher: New York, New York :, Penguin Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC,, [2016]
ISBN: 9780143129189
Branch Call Number: FIC REIC
Characteristics: viii, 260 pages ; 21 cm
Additional Contributors: Simpson, Philip 1952-- Translator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
gogo12127
Oct 16, 2016

After attending her father's funeral, former Mossad agent Rachel Goldschmitt empties her bank account and disappears. Not knowing her whereabouts or her intentions, the Mossad opens an urgent investigation to track her down, fearing the incalculable damage she could do to Israel. What unfolds is a story that explores how love, loyalty, and truth can get caught between an agent's assumed identity and her real one.
Yiftach Reicher Atir draws on his own career in intelligence to delve into the inner workings of the mind of a spy, hewing so closely to actual operations that Israeli military censors redacted several details. The result is a psychologically nuanced thriller that explores the pressures and uncertainty of living undercover for months at a time. (Synopsis taken from publisher information on back cover.)

The redacted text must have been quite sensitive, because what remains is fairly explosive. The publisher's brief biography of the author says he has written four novels. This one, the third, which originally was published in Israel in 2013 and translated in 2016, apparently is the only one to be translated into English. That's too bad, because I liked The English Teacher.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at APL.

Try searching for The English Teacher to see if APL owns related versions of the work.


Suggest for Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top