The Inside of Out

The Inside of Out

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
For fans of Stephanie Perkins, Meg Cabot, and Glee comes a hilarious, romantic, whip smart young adult novel about your best friend finding love before you do, and the lines you'll cross to stay part of her life. When her best friend Hannah comes out the day before junior year, Daisy is all set to let her ally flag fly. Before you can spell LGBTQIA, she's leading the charge to end their school's antiquated ban on same-sex dates at dances-starting with homecoming. And if people assume Daisy herself is gay? Meh, so what. It's all for Hannah, right? It's all for the cause. What Daisy doesn't expect is for "the cause" to blow up-thanks to Adam, the cute college journalist whose interview with Daisy for his college newspaper goes viral, catching fire in the national media. With the story spinning out of control, protesters gathering, Hannah left in the dust of Daisy's good intentions, and Daisy's attraction to Adam practically written in lights, Daisy finds herself caught between her bold plans, her bad decisions, and her big fat mouth. A Clueless or Emma for the modern age, this is a breezy, charming, incisive tale of growing up, getting wise, and realizing every story needs a hero-sometimes it's just not you. From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: 2016.
ISBN: 9781101627402
Branch Call Number: eBook Overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

The book [The Inside Of Out] is a good book about equal rights between people. I think the book is also good because there’s a positive attitude and nice, warm friendship going through the plot. The book is about main character Daisy who is not gay but is leading the school same-sex dance. Later she became famous around the country because the speeches on gay rights and the reporters she met. Everyone thought she was gay and also because she was so famous that there were so many protesters when people find out she is not gay. At the end, the same-sex dance still ran with the help of the Gay Alliance. Because the success of the same-sex dance, the school ended Daisy’s suspension and she get back to her normal life, or I would say that she started a better life. I think the idea of the conflict was to tell us that everyone is equal. I think the idea of this book is pretty interesting and I really like it. It tells us about equality and how we should respect people that are different from us. The quality of the current book is already pretty good. I think it should add some pictures to the author biography part. The plot and the conflict of the book was really good, I like it. I think the readers that like to read stuff about schools and real life would like the book.
-From C. L.

m
M_Imbri
Jul 19, 2016

Captivating! The writer really knows how to keep you rolling from one chapter to the next, as I found it difficult to pick a stopping point and finished the book in about eight hours over night.
While there's a bit of ex machina conscidence the characters are complex, realistically, and above all relatable. The romance wasn't overwhelming like can sometimes happen in YA fiction, but natural and the main friendship was refreshingly platonically intimate.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top