Riverkeep

Riverkeep

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
2
1
Rate this:
A stunning debut perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and Neil Gaiman!The Dan{acute}ek is a wild, treacherous river, and the Fobisher family has tended it for generations-clearing it of ice and weed, making sure boats can get through, and fishing corpses from its bleak depths. Wulliam's father, the current Riverkeep, is proud of this work. Wull dreads it. And in one week, when he comes of age, he will have to take over. Then the unthinkable happens. While recovering a drowned man, Wull's father is pulled under-and when he emerges, he is no longer himself. A dark spirit possesses him, devouring him from the inside. In an instant, Wull is Riverkeep. And he must care for his father, too. When he hears that a cure for his father lurks in the belly of a great sea-dwelling beast known as the mormorach, he embarks on an epic journey down the river that his family has so long protected-but never explored. Along the way, he faces death in any number of ways, meets people and creatures touched by magic and madness and alchemy, and finds courage he never knew he possessed. Martin Stewart's debut novel is an astonishing blend of the literary, the comedic, and the emotionally resonant. In a sentence, it's The Wizard of Oz as told by Patrick Ness. It marks the beginning of a remarkable career.From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: 2016.
ISBN: 9781101998304
Branch Call Number: eBook Overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

I loved this book! It was so exciting! I couldn't put it down. Wulliam's father was the Riverkeep and Wull was set to take his place in a few days but he felt he wasn't ready. Then when his Papa's body was taken over by something he need to travel all the way to canna bay to kill a monster that was his papa's only chance at ever being himself again. On his way Wull takes on a stowaway, a "paying costemer and a mother and her child. They all need to make it to canna bay for different reasons and somehow they all meet... I loved the book! It was amazing, the ending was so beautiful. I loved the setting and the description. I also liked the story line. I think anyone who likes fiction or fantasy would love this book. I would suggest that they be older than 12. I would rate this 5 stars.
(Reviewed by Mina for the Cloverdale Teen Book Review Project)

AL_CATHERINE Mar 26, 2017

While Stewart has crafted an engaging and fantastical world on the shores of his fictional river, the characters are really what make this story great! Wull is a great hero but Till and Mix were my favorites! I found myself looking forward to the scenes that featured the two of them. Tillinghast the homonculus, was particularly hilarious!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top