One Native Life

One Native Life

eBook - 2009
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
One Native Life is a look back down the road Richard Wagamese has traveled from childhood abuse to adult alcoholism in reclaiming his identity. It's about what he has learned as a human being, a man, and an Ojibway in his 52 years on Earth. Whether he's writing about playing baseball, running away with the circus, making bannock, or attending a sacred bundle ceremony, these are stories told in a healing spirit. Through them, Wagamese shows readers how to appreciate life for the journey it is.
Publisher: [United States] : D & M Publishers : Made available through hoopla, 2009.
ISBN: 1926685768
9781926685762
Branch Call Number: eBook hoopla
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: hoopla digital

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

e
Eil_1
Apr 04, 2016

This was a very good book - a cross between his actual life and philosophy. I did, though, enjoy "Medicine Walk" and "Indian Horse" more.

e
erinsnest
Jul 16, 2015

July 16 2015.....I have sped though this book in 3 days, which is something for me. I bought it a couple of years ago, after reading Indian Horse for the Canada Reads contest. It has sat on my shelf, waiting for me, and I picked it up this summer because I needed a book by an FNMI author for the summer reading challenge in the Chinook Arch System. Well, all I can say is....I am so glad that I read it NOW, while I am at the lake, and that I am enjoying it thoroughly. He inspired me to get my butt in gear and get out there and take advantage of what I have, namely a lake just sitting down 24 steps from my cabin! I spent 2 hours in my little rowboat last night (ouch, next time I bring a pillow for my butt) and I also set up my tent on the dock last night, and enjoyed a wonderful view of the stars (one good thing about a moonless night) and a treat of a great blue heron fishing ten feet from me in the morning. I also got very hot in the morning in that little sauna of a tent, and then realized that I could just jump in the lake. I would never have done that if I had slept up in the cabin. Thanks Richard, it was wonderful, and you will be on my mind a lot for the rest of the summer! Since I am just 3 years younger than Richard, I was able to relate to a lot of his life's news happenings. His story 'Bringing Back The Living Room' was one of my favourites, but there were many more as well. I will be re-reading this book, and will recommend it to my friends. It's a keeper!

g
gemini07
Aug 06, 2014

One of the best books I've read in a long time. Beautifully poetic.heart warming and heart felt. Richard Wagamese shares his life's learnings as teachings in a positive light. His capacity to transcend the words to reach the reader gives one much to ponder. A true literary gift filled with treasures of wisdom.

smc01 Oct 19, 2013

Richard Wagamese is one of the best writers in Canada today. Reading this book will give you insight into native issues in Canada, but also human issues as well. There is much to ponder and admire about his writing. For readers of Indian Horse, this book offers great background about the origins of that novel.

donnabell Jun 06, 2013

The story of an Ojibway man born in 1950 in Ontario. The style is one of short stories that are almost poetic & you will put the book down often to relect on the meaning & beauty of what has been written. A Canadian gem!

s
sixtyfive
Jun 07, 2011

This is one spectacular book. It's well written, it's interesting and it gives the reader some things to ponder as they rush through their busy life.
This is fantastic!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top