Hello, Universe

Hello, Universe

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
19
3
Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view-two boys and two girls-the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero), and it's perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Thanhha Lai, and Rita Williams-Garcia. In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so that he can concentrate on basketball. They aren't friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find the missing Virgil. Sometimes four can do what one cannot. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.
Publisher: 2017.
ISBN: 9780062414175
Branch Call Number: eBook Overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
VaughanPLKim Mar 20, 2019

A humorous and heartwarming story about a group of outsiders who become friends and learn to stand up to the neighbourhood bully.

h
Happy_Endings
Mar 01, 2019

As others have commented, this is a well-written book with an intriguing plot and likeable characters. It would be a good books for teachers to use in discussing point of view. A different character narrates each chapter as the story unfolds. I loved how this gave greater insight into characters that might otherwise be relatively flat, for example the bully and his target.

frodo_baggins Feb 27, 2019

I loved this sweet story of friendship with an important message about bullying.

DCLkids Dec 17, 2018

A Great Books for Great Kids pick for grades 4-6.

IndyPL_SteveB Nov 12, 2018

Exciting novel about new friendship between three children with few connections between them. Winner of the 2018 John Newbery Medal.

Extremely shy 7th-grader-to-be Virgil Salinas would like to meet hearing-disabled 7th-grader-to-be Valencia Somerset, whom he has seen every day in school. They are each isolated in their own way but don’t know how to break out. Both are being harassed by Chet, a bully in their grade. In hope of getting a new perspective, Virgil and Valencia separately decide to visit another middle school student, Kaori Tanaka, who is trying to be a fortune teller, in hopes of getting a new perspective.

However, when Virgil is walking through the woods to get to Kaori’s house, Chet throws Virgil’s backpack down a dry well. Since the backpack contains Virgil’s pet guinea pig, he climbs into the well and gets trapped, comforted only slightly by his memories of his grandmother’s heroic stories of Filipino folklore. The excellent characters, even the bully, are what make the story work.

DPLjulie Sep 24, 2018

When a bully's prank has unintended consequences, it takes determination and some big hearts to make things right. With elements of suspense, featuring interesting and diverse characters, "Hello, Universe" is a compelling, satisfying read.

plymc_lindsAy Jul 17, 2018

"There are no coincidences"...such a simple theme, and yet such a cool read! Valencia reminded me so much of Melody from Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper. She's witty and perceptive. Definitely check this one out!

e
ericasomething
Jul 02, 2018

I read this book to my 8 year old and it only took about five hours (a few chapters at a time). We both really enjoyed it, there were some intense scenes when Virgil is stuck down in the well, and it allowed my son and I to discuss some philosophy and also practical safety matters, like what choices would you make in that situation? It was neat to have two protagonists and different tenses, and to see how their paths would finally meet. I liked all the names of the characters... Virgil being Dante's companion in his descent into hell... and the theme of the guinea pigs named after gullivers travels. I liked the changes that Virgil went through, and found a lot of humor in his relationship with his grandma.

b
blue_dog_36440
Jun 21, 2018

Hello Universe is a amazing book! I couldn't put it down!!

g
glenda168
Jun 13, 2018

This book is a very unique book. Most books only have one point of view, but in this book, there is four. The main characters, Virgil Salinas, Kaori Tanaka, Valencia Somerset, and Chet Bullens, all experienced coincidences. I read most of the other comments about this book, and most of it is about coincidences. But what could the author do? Life is full of coincidences, which only makes it better. I would recommend this book for 5th graders and middle schoolers, because the vocabulary seems to be just right. The only part that I do not like about this book is the strange actions. For example, one of the characters mentioned a Spirit thing, and this just made very weird. Overall, this book is one of the greatest books that I have ever read. I recommend this book to you. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the book! :)

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
e
ericasomething
Jul 02, 2018

ericasomething thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

pink_alligator_1141 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

b
booknrrd
Feb 09, 2018

booknrrd thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top