Where the Crawdads Sing

Where the Crawdads Sing

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
282
9
6
 …
For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. She's barefoot and wild; unfit for polite society. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark. But Kya is not what they say. Abandoned at age ten, she has survived on her own in the marsh that she calls home. A born naturalist with just one day of school, she takes life lessons from the land, learning from the false signals of fireflies the real way of this world. But while she could have lived in solitude forever, the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. Drawn to two young men from town, who are each intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new and startling world -- until the unthinkable happens.
Publisher: New York :, G.P. Putnam's Sons,, [2018]
ISBN: 9780735219090
0735219095
Branch Call Number: FIC OWEN
Characteristics: 370 pages : map ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

#1 Adult Fiction Book

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we ... Read More »

I did enjoy this because its filled with lots of mixed emotions. Kya, the main character, is trying to survive by herself from a young age. She has been abandoned by those who should teach her, guide her, protect her. She has to fend for herself. Two men come into her life and teach her about the... Read More »

#1 Adult Fiction Book


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
f
fun2cook
Jan 22, 2021

If you liked “Pilgrim at Tinker Creek” you’ll probably enjoy “Where the Crawdad’s Sing.” Owens pulls you into “Kya’s world and holds you there until the end, wonderful ending.

b
barrFAM2010
Jan 21, 2021

I really loved this book. I often pick up books only to put them down and never read them because the Author fails to reel me in early. I found my attention was captured early on, with my heart breaking for this tiny little girl. As the story progressed I fell in love with the main character, her uniqueness, and found I became protective over her and needed to know what happens next. I struggled to put this one down! I do not recommend this book for younger audiences...as in I wouldn't let me daughter read this until she was an adult because I feel its mature in content. There are some sexually explicit sections, although they are not overdone. I hate when a story becomes nothing but graphic sexual experiences and loses the depth of the story, this is not that. The parts added were important to the overall story and character development. The author describes the setting well, you can really get a great picture of where they are and whats happening around them, she drew me in with the life of the marsh and its creatures. The ending was beautiful.

i
Inner_Typewriter
Jan 20, 2021

Where the Crawdads Sing is a very fine debut novel. Delia Owens takes on self isolation, loneliness, abandonment, and forgiveness in her coming of age novel. The only shortcoming is her plot twists are very predictable and for me, no surprise at the end. Nevertheless, I recommend the novel.

a
abthomps
Jan 20, 2021

Lots of emotion. Great ending :)

c
christinalmn
Jan 20, 2021

I read this for a book club and it started off slow, so I didn't think I'd finish it. What a heartbreaking personal story that really dove into the main character and her life struggles. At one point, the murder mystery pulled me in and at that point I couldn't put the book down until I had read to the end. Worth the read!

c
chilligal
Jan 12, 2021

A wonderful read. Slow to start, as it got more into the story, I found myself wanting to finish it and stayed awake to do so. It reads much like a biography, with not too many characters to keep track of. I've read that it is being made into an independent movie.

h
Horseshoe
Jan 09, 2021

Not really the genre of book that I usually read but I must say I really enjoyed this book. In fact I couldn't stop reading it. It had so many elements to it, heartbreaking, heartwarming, survival, love, hate, lonliness and redemption just to name a few. I would definately recommend this book.

j
JJ_3
Jan 08, 2021

I loved this book. It is a story that encompasses survival, resilience, loneliness, loss and love, not to mention a murder mystery! This story also swept me away with its setting; the natural but harsh environnment of the marsh, along with its native inhabitants.

s
spudwil
Jan 08, 2021

I may be the only reader who didn't love this book. Except for the somewhat surprising ending, I found the plot unrealistic and the writing very basic. It was okay. The descriptions of the marsh made me want to learn more. It might make a decent Netflix movie one day.

h
H24687634
Jan 06, 2021

7/1/21 Big holds list at the moment. Tracey has just read and loved it.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
m
mroufael
Aug 30, 2020

“Please don’t talk to me about isolation. No one has to tell me how it changes a person. I have lived it. I am isolation.

m
mroufael
Aug 30, 2020

"Faces change with life’s toll, but eyes remain a window to what was...”

m
mroufael
Aug 30, 2020

“If anyone would understand loneliness, the moon would.”

m
mroufael
Aug 30, 2020

“Why should the injured, the still bleeding, bear the onus of forgiveness?”

m
mroufael
Aug 25, 2020

"the definition of a real man is one who cries without shame, reads poetry with his heart, feels opera in his soul, and does what's necessary to defend a woman."

a
amahof7
Jan 30, 2020

Tate’s father told him many times, “The definition of a real man is one who cries with shame, reads poetry with his heart, feels opera in his soul and does what’s necessary to defend a woman.”
Mabel to Kya:”Ya need some girlfriends hon, cause they’re forever. Without a vow, a clutch of women is the most tender, most tough place on earth”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“She knew the years of isolation had altered her behavior until she was different from others, but it wasn't her fault she'd been alone. Most of what she knew, she'd learned from the wild. Nature had nurtured, tutored, and protected her when no one else would.”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“I wasn't aware that words could hold so much. I didn't know a sentence could be so full.”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“Sometimes she heard night-sounds she didn’t know or jumped from lightning too close, but whenever she stumbled, it was the land who caught her. Until at last, at some unclaimed moment, the heart-pain seeped away like water into sand. Still there, but deep. Kya laid her hand upon the breathing, wet earth, and the marsh became her mother.”

Age

Add Age Suitability
k
kxyhuang
Nov 16, 2020

kxyhuang thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

g
GreaterChicken
Jun 22, 2020

GreaterChicken thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

e
ellysaurus
Feb 04, 2020

ellysaurus thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

t
t3485tank
Oct 31, 2019

t3485tank thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

a
AliceInWonderbread
Sep 19, 2019

AliceInWonderbread thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

n
nherrera61
Aug 07, 2019

nherrera61 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
j
janiedobbs
Dec 30, 2019

The novel’s main narrative opens in the marshland near the fictional town of Barkley Cove, North Carolina. Seven-year-old Catherine “Kya” Clark lives in a shack in the swamp with her mother, father, and siblings. However, one day, Kya’s mother leaves the shack forever in order to escape the physical abuse inflicted by Kya’s father. Kya’s siblings soon leave on their own as well, leaving only Kya and Pa. Pa spends increasingly more time away from the shack over the years, and when Kya is about ten years old, Pa leaves forever. Kya has become thoroughly self-sufficient by this time, living on the land and occasionally trading in town for necessary supplies.

When Kya is 14 years old, a kind local boy named Tate Walker begins to visit Kya, and he teaches her how to read. He is about four years older than Kya. He also gives Kya his old textbooks from school. When Kya is 15 years old, she and Tate fall in love, but Tate insists that they do not have sex until Kya is older. Tate soon leaves for college, and although he promises to love and remember Kya, Kya feels abandoned. When Kya is 19 years old, she suddenly becomes attracted to a young local man named Chase Andrews. Chase begins visiting her often. Chase says that he loves her and is eager to have sex with her. Kya refuses at first, but after about a year, she consents to sex.

Tate eventually returns to Barkley Cove in order to perform scientific research on the marshland. He visits Kya and asks for forgiveness, but she refuses to take him back. Tate sees that Kya has performed much of her own research on the marshland, and he urges Kya to submit it to publishers. Tate also warns Kya that Chase is a dishonest womanizer. One day, Kya sees in the newspaper that Chase has become engaged to someone else. She is heartbroken. Later, she submits her research to publishers, and when she is 22 years old, a book of her research is published under her name. Kya’s brother Jodie sees the book in a store and returns to the swamp to reconnect with Kya. Jodie encourages Kya to give Tate another chance.

Chase eventually visits Kya and says that he wants to continue his relationship with her, despite the fact that he is married to someone else. When Kya refuses him, Chase tries to rape her. She hits him and escapes. Kya realizes that because Chase is such a popular member of the town, and because she is an outcast for living in the swamp, she has no recourse. One day, in October of 1969, Chase’s body is found near the swamp. He appears to have fallen—or possibly have been pushed—out of a fire watchtower. The sheriff investigates and arrests Kya. However, the evidence is inconclusive and circumstantial, and Kya is acquitted. She and Tate declare their love for each other, and they live together in the swamp. Kya continues her career as a naturalist, and Tate continues his career as a researcher. Kya dies at age 64, after which Tate finds evidence that seems to prove that Kya killed Chase. He disposes of the evidence so that no one will ever find it.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top