The Collected Stories of Arthur C. Clarke

The Collected Stories of Arthur C. Clarke

Book - 2000
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Author of 2001: A Space Odyssey , Childhood's End , The City and the Stars , and the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Rendezvous with Rama , Arthur C. Clarke is the most celebrated science fiction author alive. He is - with H. G. Wells, Isaac Asimov, and Robert A. Heinlein - one of the writers who define science fiction in our time. Now Clarke has cooperated in the preparation of a massive, definitive edition of his collected shorter works. From early work like "Rescue Party" and "The Lion of Comarre," through classics like "The Star," "Earthlight," "The Nine Billion Names of God," and "The Sentinel" (kernel of the later novel, and movie, 2001: A Space Odyssey ), all the way to later work like "A Meeting with Medusa" and "The Hammer of God," this immense volume encapsulates one of the great SF careers of all time.
Publisher: New York :, Tom Doherty Associates,, 2000.
ISBN: 9780312878214
Branch Call Number: SCF SS CLA
Characteristics: 966 pages ; 24 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Aug 30, 2019

I've loved his novels since I was a teenager. This was an interesting look into his progression as a writer. The stories are in chronological order of publication and begin when he was in the RAF and selling stories to the pulps. I didn't like everything offered but there are some real gems in here. Especially one about ballooning on Jupiter. There is a small amount of commentary on most of the entries as well which is always appreciated.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at APL

To Top