Scary Stories for Young Foxes

Scary Stories for Young Foxes

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5

A Newbery Honor Recipient

Christian McKay Heidicker draws inspiration from Bram Stoker, H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allen Poe for his debut middle-grade novel, a thrilling portrait of survival and an unforgettable tale of friendship.

"Clever and harrowing." —The Wall Street Journal

"Into the finest tradition of storytelling steps Christian McKay Heidicker with these highly original, bone-chilling, and ultimately heart-warming stories. All that's needed is a blazing campfire and a delicious plate of peaches and centipedes." —Kathi Appelt, Newbery Award honoree and National Book Award finalist

The haunted season has arrived in the Antler Wood. No fox kit is safe.

When Mia and Uly are separated from their litters, they discover a dangerous world full of monsters. In order to find a den to call home, they must venture through field and forest, facing unspeakable things that dwell in the darkness: a zombie who hungers for their flesh, a witch who tries to steal their skins, a ghost who hunts them through the snow . . . and other things too scary to mention.

Featuring eight interconnected stories and sixteen hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R. L. Stine have found their next favorite book.

A Booklist 2019 Editors' Choice Selection

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
d
darladoodles
Sep 19, 2020

This is not a book I found interesting until I saw it was a Newbery Honor recipient. So, I checked it out and kept putting off reading it. . . Finally took it to my library to read on my breaks and finally finished. The first parts were just icky and creepy. Then Beatrix Potter shows up. Interesting, but this was no the Miss Potter I remember from the movie of the same name. Grrrrr. As we continue to spend time with Uly and Mia they really began to grow on me and I was rooting for them. The ending is well done. I do think this is not a book I would recommend to every kid like I would a book like "New Kid."

PimaLib_SarahB Jun 30, 2020

Seven little foxes go to listen to the storyteller late at night in the Antler Wood and one by one return home rather than listen to all of the scary stories. All except one little fox - who stays the whole night. This is a very suspenseful book with lots of creepiness to get your spine tingling. It's also a wonderful story about love, friendship, and overcoming adversity. I highly recommend this Newbery Honor book (2020) for any age reader who likes creepy stories.

IndyPL_RachelJ Apr 23, 2020

This book is really well-written, and I actually thought it was a little more funny than scary. If you do get scared, make sure you read until the end because you will see a nice resolution to the end of the story.

IndyPL_ShellieR Mar 30, 2020

I am neither particularly young nor a fox however these stories kept me awake way past my bedtime two nights in a row! Though these animals can talk to each other and there is a little sprinkling of magic thrown into one of the stories, most of what is scary (and it is legitimately scary) is just the reality of the natural world. A literary wink to someone who has always kind of given me the creeps and the fact that most things sort out okay in the end made me glad I stuck with this book but I'm not going to lie; there were definitely times when I wished I hadn't even started it! (Warning: not everyone survives in the wild so do you think that everyone survives this wild animal story?)

j
jdesetti
Feb 18, 2020

Newbery Honor 2020

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top