Shaman's Crossing

Shaman's Crossing

Book - 2005
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Serving his king during a time of realm expansion, nobleman's son Nevare Burvelle finds his promising career compromised by unexpected prejudice at the King's Cavalry Academy and the discovery that he is being rendered a pawn by the magical plains folk. By the author of the Farseer and Tawny Man series. Nevare Burvelle is the second son of a second son, destined from birth to carry a sword. The wealthy young noble will follow his father, newly made a lord by the King of Gernia, into the cavalry, training in the military arts at the elite King's Cavella Academy in the capital city of Old Thares. Bright and well-educated, an excellent horseman with an advantageous engagement, Nevare's future appears golden. But as his Academy instruction progresses, Nevare begins to realize that the road before him is far from straight. The old aristocracy looks down on him as the son of a "new noble" and, unprepared for the political and social maneuvering of the deeply competitive school and city, the young man finds himself entangled in a web of injustice, discrimination, and foul play. In addition, he is disquieted by his unconventional girl-cousin Epiny, who challenges his heretofore unwavering world view, and by the bizarre dreams that haunt his nights. For twenty years the King's cavalry has pushed across the grasslands, subduing and settling its nomads and claiming the territory in Gernia's name. Now they have driven as far as the Barrier Mountains, home to the Speck people, a quiet, forest-dwelling folk who retain the last vestiges of magic in a world that is rapidly becoming modernized. From childhood Nevare has been taught that the Specks are a primitive people to be pitied for their backward ways, and feared for their indigenous diseases, including the deadly Speck plague, which has ravaged the frontier towns and military outposts. The Dark Evening brings the carnival to Old Thares, and with it an unknown magic, and the first Specks Nevare has ever seen.
Publisher: New York :, EOS,, [2005]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2005
ISBN: 9780060757625
Branch Call Number: FIC HOBB
Characteristics: 577 pages : map ; 24 cm.
regular print


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Aug 10, 2018

#1 Soldiers Series

Dec 07, 2016

Hmmm, I should have liked this more than 3 star. It was a great read but by the time I got about halfway I was tired of Nevare and the misogynist society he is a product of. I wonder if it's just my mood but maybe I've just moved on from this style of story, the young man who has a life plan and the magic that changes him, with or without his approval. Am I getting too old to like these teenage protagonists?? Because all I keep thinking is that they need to grow up and stop being so pig headed, kind of like the attitude I'm developing in real life.

May 31, 2016

I absolutely loved the other books I've read by Robin Hobb -The Farseer Trilogy, The Liveship Traders Trilogy, The Tawny Man Trilogy and the four volume tale, The Rain Wilds Chronicles. However this, the first of The Soldier Son Trilogy, lacked in excitement for me. There was one section where it started to get more exciting before it fell back into feeling like reading someone's mundane diary... That is until it picked up some again in the last quarter of the book. In typical Hobb style the characters were well fleshed out, and you'll be drawn into wanting to know what will happen to them. Take some advice from me though, before you're turned off trying the more beautiful smorgasbord this writer has to offer, read the other sets I've mentioned first! I also recommend reading them in the order I've listed them. You'll be glad you did!

Apr 23, 2014

Disappointing in comparison to her other trilogies. The book had interesting parts but also parts that really dragged. The main character was a model "exemplary" person to an often tedious degree. The supernatural aspects went too far into fantasy land.

Sep 04, 2010

A rather enjoyable book, I would suggest it to my friends. Though this trilogy is written by the same person as the Farseer Trilogy the story itself has a different feel to it. It also shows a mans efforts to better himself and shoulder the burdens which life has flung upon him. The characters are realistic, neither truly good nor truly evil, showing growth and understanding as time passes by.

Dec 06, 2009

Meh-worthy. Not as interesting as the Assassins Apprentice series.

May 08, 2007

A very unique main character, especially for genre fiction. Hobb is always great at character development and this middle book of her latest series doesn't disappoint.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors


Subject Headings


Find it at APL

To Top