Select language, opens an overlay
Moon Over Manifest

Moon Over Manifest

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
19
7
1
 …
"Abilene Tucker feels abandoned. Her father has put her on a train, sending her off to live with an old friend for the summer while he works a railroad job. Armed only with a few possessions and her list of universals, Abilene jumps off the train in Manifest, Kansas, aiming to learn about the boy her father once was. Having heard stories about Manifest, Abilene is disappointed to find that it's just a dried-up, worn-out old town. But her disappointment quickly turns to excitement when she discovers a hidden cigar box full of mementos, including some old letters that mention a spy known as the Rattler. These mysterious letters send Abilene and her new friends, Lettie and Ruthanne, on an honest-to-goodness spy hunt, even though they are warned to "Leave Well Enough Alone." Abilene throws all caution aside when she heads down the mysterious Path to Perdition to pay a debt to the reclusive Miss Sadie, a diviner who only tells stories from the past. It seems that Manifest's history is full of colorful and shadowy characters-and long-held secrets. The more Abilene hears, the more determined she is to learn just what role her father played in that history. And as Manifest's secrets are laid bare one by one, Abilene begins to weave her own story into the fabric of the town."--Jacket.
Publisher: New York, New York :, Delacorte Press,, 2010.
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2010
ISBN: 9780385738835
0385738838
Branch Call Number: J FIC VAND
Characteristics: viii, 351 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Sent to live with a friend, a girl jumps off the train in Manifest, Kansas to learn about her father's past.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
Lovestoread5 Oct 17, 2020

Has a slow start, but gets more interesting and has a happy ending.

g
green_wolf_1954
Jan 30, 2020

This is my favorite book! it is fictional, but has great info about the past. It almost has the feel of freestyle poetry. This book is a must read for all!

n
navy_dolphin_421
Nov 05, 2019

A wonderful and sweet book! I had so much fun reading--this is definitely a favorite.

YLPLchildrens Jul 25, 2018

Flipping between the Great Depression and WWI, the mystery of Manifest unfolds as two halves of a story slowly intertwine. Fans of historical fiction will hang on each new detail as Abilene Tucker learns about her father’s childhood and helps bring an old town back to life.

v
violet_llama_309
May 29, 2018

i loved this book. i got it for Christmas started it a week later and could not put it down. historical fiction at its finest. i just started reading navigating early and so far so good although its not this book

w
wmtlady
Apr 27, 2018

Even though this is a "young adult" book, it is so well written and full of historical details that it is a sure hit with adults, also. That could explain the large number of people requesting to read it. Hang in there; it is worth the wait.

JCLBeckyC Nov 21, 2017

Leisurely-paced, character-driven, historical middle-grade fiction with a strong sense of place and a large cast of quirky characters. The audiobook is especially good. Readalikes: Because of Winn Dixie, Wolf Hollow, Absolutely Truly, To Kill a Mockingbird.

Loved this book. I like to read the Newbery winners even though I am no longer an elementary teacher. This book would make an excellent movie. The characters, setting, plot, conflict, and resolution are all absorbing and wonderful.

b
bixby
Jun 12, 2014

Taking place in small-town Kansas during the summers of 1918 and 1936, the main character reminds me of Scout in To Kill a Mockingbird. I kept finding myself grinning as I read - a wonderful story!

Ariel2 Mar 09, 2014

A wonderful read for all age groups. At first I didn't find it particularly interesting and pretty well skimmed through until it hooked me. So just had to go back to read it over again! Certainly glad I didn't succumb to my initial impulse to abandon it.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
b
blue_dog_8171
Jan 10, 2019

blue_dog_8171 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

e
emmalhrx
Jun 23, 2014

emmalhrx thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

violet_flamingo_277 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

violet_ladybug_150 Jun 26, 2012

violet_ladybug_150 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

b
blue_worm_11
Jan 16, 2012

blue_worm_11 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

LocketLibrarian Jun 01, 2011

LocketLibrarian thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

rdl727 Feb 11, 2011

rdl727 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

Notices

Add Notices
v
VanessaL52
Feb 09, 2019

Violence: Stabbing

Quotes

Add a Quote
b
bixby
Jun 12, 2014

"The Lord himself knew the power of a good story. How it can reach out and wrap around a person like a warm blanket."
(p. 206, Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool)

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top